Published On: Sun, Oct 30th, 2016

Colombo to host ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier

New Delhi, Oct 30: Sri Lanka’s capital Colombo will host the 10-nation ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017 from February 7 to 21.

According to the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament will see the bottom four sides from the ICC Women’s Championship along with Bangladesh, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Thailand, Scotland and Zimbabwe go head to head for the four remaining spots in the Women’s World Cup to be held in the United Kingdom from June 26 to July 23 next year.

From the ICC Women’s Championship, hosts Sri Lanka are certain to feature in the qualifier while the remaining three sides will be confirmed following the final round of matches to be played in November.

World champions Australia have already won the ICC Women’s Championship and became the first side to book a ticket for next year’s ICC Women’s World Cup. England, West Indies, New Zealand, South Africa, India and Pakistan are fighting for the remaining three automatic spots in the premier women’s 50-over event.

The 10 sides in Colombo will be divided into two groups of five with the top three from each progressing to the Super Six stage, thus securing One-Day International (ODI) status until the next ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier.

The top four sides from the Super Six stage will qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 as well as for the next ICC Women’s Championship, while the top two sides will contest the final on February 21.

As many as 30 50-over matches will be played in the two-week tournament, which will provide another opportunity for the women’s sides below the leading nations to gain vital experience and exposure so that they are fully geared up for the ultimate event in women’s cricket.